Mary Poppins

I've just recently been talking about Mary Poppins and today, with some time before my family bbq, I felt the need to watch the movie. It was my favourite movie growing up. Whenever I watch it, I feel like the Grinch at the end of How the Grinch Stole Christmas (wait, am I remembering the title right?), my heart just grows 3 sizes.

Yes, oddly, it seems I AM a gooey burnt marshmallow.

If you've never seen it and disdain the Disney connection, well, I don't command that you watch it. I know not everyone has the same reaction to this movie as I do or even the nostalgic love for it that many other people have but I will say that you might want to give it a shot:

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mary Poppins

  1. Kelly says:

    That's the way I am for Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. No matter how bad the day, "Pure Imagination" and "I've Got a Golden Ticket" can cheer me up.
    I too am a gooey marshmallow.

  2. lostdwarf says:

    Pure Imagination. Is that the one he sings when he lets them in the Chocolate room? I love that song. I really should own the movie. I could just skip the parts I don't like then.

  3. SpiritSeeker says:

    It is a great movie. We recently got a surround sound system to replace our old stereo system and the first CD I put in to test it was Mary Poppins.Also Dick Van Dyke grew up in the town of Danville, Illinois only a half hour from where I live and he came back for a visit about a year and a half ago. I remember a picture of him in the paper looking wistfully at the high school stage where he began his acting career. (I should have save that photo and scanned it)

  4. Kelly says:

    There are parts you don't like? Sacrilege, darling. 🙂
    But yeah, that's the song he sings as he lets them in the chocolate room.
    I have the soundtrack. It is not at all uncommon for me to drive to work singing Golden Ticket or Pure Imagination or the Veruca Salt song (I Want it Now).

  5. foxsydee says:

    I think I need to watch Mary Poppins again…its been ages. I had totally forgotten about this great scene! thanks!

  6. lostdwarf says:

    well, there's the whole "Charlie & grandpa stealing fizzy lifting drinks" part that I think is REALLY against the spirit of the book.

  7. sylph says:

    So there are people who are like, against Disney, then? I didn't know about that.

Leave a comment